Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Work for the Reception Year focuses on the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. The seven areas of learning which comprise the curriculum for children aged between 0 and 5 years are:

The Prime Strands

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Strands

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Work towards the Early Learning Goals is planned in short themes based on the children’s interests and fascinations such as transport, people who help us and animals. The children are taught through a carefully balanced provision of Adult Led and Child Initiated playful learning sessions. Children have access to a range of carefully selected resources to enhance their learning, including free-flow access to the outdoor environment throughout the day, in all weathers. More structure is introduced towards the end of the year to help the children transfer to Year One successfully.

Careful planning ensures a broad and balanced range of work for the children based on good early years practice. Work dovetails into the early stages of the National Curriculum Key Stage 1, so that children can progress naturally to work within the first National Curriculum level when they are ready.

Latest news

3x-star.com 3x-strapon.com likelick.com